Skip to content

Do You Meditate? Why Not!

February 2, 2013

Meditation isn’t just about calming the mind and achieving enlightenment (I say ‘Just’ with tongue-in-cheek!) – and it does not, absolutely, require you to be religious or spiritual.

Meditation can be simply used as a relaxation exercise. Ruby Wax uses ‘Mindfulness Training’ or ‘Mindfulness’ to manage depression. Mindfulness is simply meditation.

It is simply about being present.

Start simple – watch the breath. Notice what the air entering and leaving the nostrils feels like – this is meditation!

Notice the feeling of the warm water as you wash your dishes really experience the bubbles popping against your skin – this is meditation!

Walk slowly, very slowly and intentionally – this is meditation!

The physiological effects of meditation have been scientifically proven in many cases to reduce stress and improve emotional and mental health. If you read Lifting The Lid On Depression Part Deux you will have read (and hopefully done!) a Practice called ‘The Five Elements’ (well at least, a part of anyway) – this is – yep! You guessed it –

MEDITATION.

Do it – you have everything to gain.

Until Next Time,

Matt Chase 🙂

Further Reading:

Soul Refresher – ‘Students Meditate To Relieve Stress’

Pieces Of Meesh – ‘Meditate and…’

Just Give A Little Bit – ‘Breathe in, Breathe out…’

8 Comments
  1. pangirlbrit permalink

    I am just learning meditation, I am a beginner, but so far IT REALLY DOES SEEM TO HELP! Thanx for Following my blog, I don’t blog much anymore lately though, but you never know when I will start up on a regular basis again. 🙂

    • Hey Lovely!

      A pleasure and thank you too for following. If you need any advice on meditating do feel free to get in touch, I will be happy to help! 🙂

      I look forward to reading your blogs when you get chance… 😉

  2. Mindfulness practice is something that I think would be great to teach all kids. The benefits are just so immense, it is clear when you meet anyone with a long-standing sitting practice. I think it could even be said that it helps you live longer because each moment feels longer instead of rushing by in a haze.
    Thanks for this reminder.
    I have to meditate for my job, and I find that even if I do five minutes, it feels good. I like doing more than that, but on the real crowded days, five minutes is always possible and generally helps me to see the spaces where I have more time later in the day.

    • Hi Jennifer and thank you for your feedback. Sure thing – just five minutes in a crowded day is often enough to plug ourselves back into the present moment. I know that on the very rare occasions when I don’t do any practice, I start to feel very unbalanced and my mood starts to dip – meditation reminds me who I am.

      Here’s to the NOW 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Do You Meditate? Why Not! | Free Writing
  2. How to Turn Down the Mental Chatter Part 1 « Matt Chase International
  3. WTOE: Matt Chase International | Ponderingspawned
  4. How to Turn Down the Mental Chatter Part 1 - Matt Chase International

Leave a Reply

misswendywongusa

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Rambling with "Crazy A"

Adventures around the country and around the world.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

The Doctor's Couch

Hiatus: Time off.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Contemplation Center

We connect people through the practice of contemplation.

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

The Twisted Spinstre

The drollest site of all time - of all time

SFoxWriting.com

Something For Everyone's Needs

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

