Skip to content

Taking (Down) Time For YOU.

March 16, 2013

Sometime ago I was featured on Pondering Spawned or rather, my artwork was. As part of the exhibition I was asked: ‘What drives you to create?’ My reply was: ‘Misery’.

Actually – No. Following recent events and transformative responses to those events…. let us look at that again:

What drives me to create is that Divine space that takes place just after the misery. The Tibetans call this – The Bardo. ‘The Space In-Between’ (not a direct translation). I am currently in The Bardo.

Welcome!

 

True Writers, Artists and Creatives can only create the really good stuff through or immediately following trauma or some other stimulating but equally depressing or mournful experience (in my opinion).

Why?

Because then and only then can we truly, madly, deeply experience the Golden Thread that magically, wonderfully and majestically weaves its way through the genius of the creative process:

EMPATHY.

 

I have talked about this vital ingredient in our lives many times throughout my posts – though not necessarily its link to creativity – and now I can share with you this realisation:-

We all must dare to throw ourselves into the mire of ‘Insanity’ – for here is where true gems sparkle and shine – just waiting to be discovered, unearthed and thrust into their world of blackness. There is alchemy in this method. Trust and it will be so.

Great men and women have gone before us, triumphantly drowning in their own negativity, courageously battling with the Demons of their minds – just so they could report back.

I’m reporting back.

 

I have been into the crevices of my own suffering. I experienced fear – such inane fear. I thought I was to be lost for sure.

But the opposite happened:

I found myself.

My true inner, loving, vulnerable self –

 

And I like what I found.

 

I love who I have found.

Could this have happened if I hadn’t dared to surrender into the blackness of my own soul? The darkness of my life in practicality? This chaos that thrusts with every phone call? That anxiety that accompanies each letter?

No, it couldn’t.

Have I finished yet? Nope! And that’s okay. I know that I’m not quite done, I realise that my living/practical/financial situation will continue to kick off until it has transformed itself into something shiny and new. Yes – I KNOW this now. I FEEL this now. Because  I am now in the NOW. I had no choice.

Sometimes people – we have no choice and so in that situation, GREAT learning can be achieved by taking DOWN-TIME.

I will keep reporting back – in the hope that you too, will become brave enough to know who you truly are, so that you will bring about real change from the very depths of your soul – and know that true sense of self-knowledge that lies beyond the blackness.

Not your idea of downtime? Thought I was going to suggest a nice cup of tea? 😉

I love you.

🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

misswendywongusa

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Rambling with "Crazy A"

Adventures around the country and around the world.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

The Doctor's Couch

Hiatus: Time off.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Contemplation Center

We connect people through the practice of contemplation.

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

The Twisted Spinstre

The drollest site of all time - of all time

SFoxWriting.com

Something For Everyone's Needs

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

