Skip to content

What We Need (and what happens when we don’t get it)

March 24, 2013

maslow's hierarchy of needs five stage pyramide

(Image Credit: http://www.simplypsychology.org with thanks)

The above is the very well known (in therapeutic, nursing and care circles) Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs – Note: NEEDS, not wants. So using myself as an example – take a look if you will, at my previous posts relating to my current fears, anxieties and struggles:

 

The reality of where I am at right now:

 

  • I am still losing my home (rent not paid, unable to)
  • I am in limbo as to where I am going next (still waiting to hear definite outcome from Housing Association)
  • I have no family
  • I am single
  • Some friends have ‘disappeared’
  • I have no sex drive (WTF!!!)
  • I am unable to carry out my usual career
  • My new career is yet to come to fruition

 

All the above = Instability.

 

Let’s look at the positives:

  • I have taken action to create a new place to live
  • I have asked for help
  • Some friends remain a constant presence
  • I now have enough for food and heating
  • I am receiving Professional Psychological support
  • I am taking prescribed medication*

Take a look at the diagram – when the BASICS fail – the ENTIRE pyramid falls. In the post: Quick! Grab This Post Whilst It’s Hot! I said that I am going to ‘Build from the ground up’ –

AND I AM

WHY?

BECAUSE I HAVE NO CHOICE.

 

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs is an incredible tool for Self-Help. After the initial: ‘My God I have non of those things!!’, we can begin to put in place layers that are missing – we are responsible for this, no-one else is.

IT IS HARD. I KNOW THIS BECAUSE I AM HERE – RIGHT NOW.

This is why I am sharing this with you – NOW – In this moment of my own darkness, amongst the intense isolation, alone-ness and fear – I have:

STILL MANAGED TO MEET AT LEAST SOME OF MY BASIC NEEDS:

Which will then lead on to meet the others higher up the hierarchy.

I hope that helps you in some way. And as I have said before: I will keep reporting back. There is little more so helpful – than real-time experience being spewed onto the screen…. REAL….TIME…EXPERIENCE.

It’s happening to me – Right Now.

Matt xx

Footnotes:

  • Prescription medication (in my case: 15mg Mirtazapine) can (in my opinion) replace some of the missing links: in the post: ‘Human Affection – Can We Live Without It?’ I talked about our need to be held as this increases serotonin levels, so if there is an absence of family, friends, lovers – we must artificially meet this need. This is, in my opinion, a valid, but TEMPORARY crutch. And very welcome!
  • I have mentioned previously the importance of a healthy sex life in relation to emotional and mental health. I can now – with frustration and slight amusement report – that I was right 🙂
  • If you look at the pyramid and have read at least some of my previous posts, you will notice that I have 3 layers of the pyramid either missing or incomplete. This is potentially catastrophic psychologically, physiologically and could contribute to risk of suicide – I am sharing this with you because even with THREE layers seriously affected – I AM STILL HERE.

I truly hope – that this gives you hope. And I will continue to: report back. xx

Leave a Reply

misswendywongusa

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Rambling with "Crazy A"

Adventures around the country and around the world.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

The Doctor's Couch

Hiatus: Time off.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Contemplation Center

We connect people through the practice of contemplation.

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

The Twisted Spinstre

The drollest site of all time - of all time

SFoxWriting.com

Something For Everyone's Needs

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

