Skip to content

Anchor Down – And What It Means To Be Real

April 2, 2013

I just watched this AMAZING movie and I want to go straight into a quote from it:

‘… there is no gold at the end of the rainbow. There is just shit and piss. And to know that – that makes me free’.

The movie is called ‘On The Road’ and I won’t spoil it for you – but if you are a writer, a seeker, a soul searcher, a fucked-up genius – WATCH THIS FILM.

I’m gonna put that quote again below but basically, these dudes are sat around a table asking who they are now – so the quote is a response to that. And this got me to thinking:

Who Am I Now??

 

A realist. A lonely fucked-up realist who feels things you can’t even fucking imagine. I FEEL everything – every damn thing that life throws at me – I feel. My body aches with the pain of this. My jaw tightens with the anger of having to go through such palpable isolation – MY FRIENDS DON’T GET ME –

THEY NEVER HAVE.

 

There. I said it. God that feels GOOOOD! I have wanted to say that for POSTS AND POSTS AND POSTS – but didn’t have the balls.

The thing is this:

I stand still long enough to feel. People don’t do this. Have you noticed?

PEOPLE DON’T KNOW HOW TO ANCHOR DOWN:

Into their realness.

Now… that quote again and PLEASE buy or rent this movie because it is brilliant:

‘I know there is no gold at the end of the rainbow. There is just shit and piss. And to know that – that makes me free’.

But let me tell you this – when the apocalypse comes…. (or is it already here?)… who will be the most prepared?*

Here’s to shit and piss.

Credits:
Movie: ‘On The Road’
Screenwriter: Jose’ Rivers
Based on the Novel by: Jack Kerouac
Verdict: Genius.
 
* To step into the light.
From → Philosophy, Realism

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

misswendywongusa

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Rambling with "Crazy A"

Adventures around the country and around the world.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

The Doctor's Couch

Hiatus: Time off.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Contemplation Center

We connect people through the practice of contemplation.

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

The Twisted Spinstre

The drollest site of all time - of all time

SFoxWriting.com

Something For Everyone's Needs

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

