Skip to content

The Changing Tide

November 10, 2013

I have always been unpredictable. Equally – life has always thrown the unexpected my way, often causing me to suddenly change course and always in a direction that I was not expecting. This week I start my new job as a club promoter (that is an enjoyable exaggeration, I will be flyering initially). Most of which is voluntary. I said to my keyworker (a support worker at a local organisation for people recovering from various crises) the other day upon his suggestion that I do voluntary work: “I will never do voluntary work again. I’ve done my bit”. Famous last words….

I mentioned in a previous post that I went along to a meeting for a local club night purely out of curiosity and perhaps a sense of nostalgia for times gone by. What I didn’t expect was to feel present enthusiasm for a job that I will, initially, get paid nothing for. I want to do it. I have a passion for performance (promoting is the same as performing, engaging the public to the point of fascination), I come alive when I am around people younger than me, I am artistic (the club night involves art installations, stilt walkers et al), I am fun to be around – I am of benefit to others simply by engaging with them, regardless of the circumstance. I had imagined that my involvement with ‘helping people’ would take the form of previous occupations – therapy, care work , nursing etc. I was possibly wrong. I dare not commit, of course, for the tide will surely change the moment I make an announcement of such definite clarity. I will, however, take the risk of saying that maybe, just maybe, ‘The Tide’ has turned in yet another unexpected direction and that my interpretation – correct or incorrect – tells me that The Tide is gently informing me that I can still be of benefit to others just by being here in the first place. The Tide may, just may, be whispering in my ear: ‘The darkness is behind you, you are stronger than you think, you are allowed to have fun. This will automatically give others permission to do the same… and this, Dear Matt, will have beautiful, powerful, life-changing repercussions for all who cross your path. Enjoy…’

Here’s to Changing Tides….

With Much Love,

Matt xx

2 Comments
  1. Changing tides and being in flow. They’re complimentary. Allow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

misswendywongusa

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Rambling with "Crazy A"

Adventures around the country and around the world.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

The Doctor's Couch

Hiatus: Time off.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Contemplation Center

We connect people through the practice of contemplation.

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

The Twisted Spinstre

The drollest site of all time - of all time

SFoxWriting.com

Something For Everyone's Needs

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

