Skip to content

Are You Happy?

December 5, 2013

I wonder about happiness. I wonder if it is actually achievable in this world of blatant suffering. I even wonder if it is perhaps selfish to be happy when the world around us is crumbling into poverty, pain and corruption. Maybe even the pain and poverty is caused by corruption. So is it really possible to be happy?

I don’t know.

What I do know is that I have good days and bad days and that on my good days I try to do my best to share that apparent happiness with all who walk my path, cross my path and even, when I can, to those who piss me off. Sorry, there was no fluffy metaphor for that one.

Happiness, I believe, is a little like compassion – we have to work at it. I have discovered throughout my life that the more I learn from my own suffering, the more I seem to be able to be empathic, kind – compassionate. I am yet to discover that these same learnings increase my capacity for happiness. Ah yes, something else I have learned – when I feel happy I am paradoxically slapped across the face by guilt. I feel guilty for being happy.

Do we actually avoid happiness? Do we feel unworthy of such a blessing? Is it actually possible to be truly happy and still to feel a genuine heartfelt connection to another’s’ pain? Would this take the happiness away? All these questions. I have no answers.

I am kinda glad that I don’t have the answers because the way life has been going lately, I am pretty sure that the answers will automatically manifest themselves in an experiential manner so shocking that I will have no option but to drop the questions and, just – know.

To Your Search…

Matt xx

2 Comments
  1. May you be well and happy! with metta

Leave a Reply

misswendywongusa

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Rambling with "Crazy A"

Adventures around the country and around the world.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

The Doctor's Couch

Hiatus: Time off.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Contemplation Center

We connect people through the practice of contemplation.

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

The Twisted Spinstre

The drollest site of all time - of all time

SFoxWriting.com

Something For Everyone's Needs

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

