Skip to content

Empaths Empaths, Everywhere Empaths

December 18, 2013

Carl Jung, the famous psychologist who followed on the work of Sigmund Freud, plus adding his own take on the psychological and psychotherapeutic doctrines, only worked for two days a week. The rest of the time was spent on his own island talking to the ego states. I don’t know why he chose to do this but I can add my own spin to this – he was an empath.

Being an empath involves having deep spiritual and psychic connections to the people you work with, your environment and everything in between. It’s a complete head fuck I have to tell you. On top of this the empath has their own stuff, as we all do, to live with, deal with and process. Argh!

With this in mind I am unsure as to how an empath can actually hold down a ‘normal job’. Carl Jung worked intensively with patients suffering a wide range of psychological and emotional ‘disorders’ (I have an aversion to the ‘D’ word but will allow it on this occasion) and as such clearly understood the effect this had on his own psychological and spiritual well being. He chose to retreat. He had the luxury of charging by the hour, earning enough to live, so that he could then discharge and recharge in the way that worked for him.

I used to do that.

I worked professionally as a psychic healer and therapist and took many days off in the month to heal myself from the damage done by working in such an intensive way. These days, the healing I do is more by the written word, my daily interactions and meditation.

This doesn’t pay the bills.

To pay the bills I do ‘normal jobs’ and although I enjoy this (most of the time) I do then feel incredibly, terribly and awfully drained. Usually this drained effect then becomes visible on my face, often on the last day of a contract or on the day I quit (I have quit three jobs in six weeks…so far… J). The visibility presents as sunken eyes, dull eyes and dry skin – always on my face. It’s almost as if my body knows that this is the aspect of myself that I will notice first when I look into the mirror of a morning. Maybe my body even knows how vain I am! I see my reflection – sallow and dead looking – and think: ‘Right! Time to quit!’

I have learned how to take care of myself and pay the bills. This is not ideal. I want to enjoy myself and pay the bills!

Empaths have a tough life. We also have a good life because we can take ourselves out of danger a split second before others would have noticed any danger at all. It’s a gift. It’s a curse. The duality is not lost on me.

I am doing the best I can under inherent circumstances. I would welcome the day when I can have my own island to escape to, to merge with the silence and to plug myself back into the mains. If only I could trust.

In the meantime, I have you.

And you have me.

With Love,

Matt Chase xx

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

misswendywongusa

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Rambling with "Crazy A"

Adventures around the country and around the world.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

The Doctor's Couch

Hiatus: Time off.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Contemplation Center

We connect people through the practice of contemplation.

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

The Twisted Spinstre

The drollest site of all time - of all time

SFoxWriting.com

Something For Everyone's Needs

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

