Skip to content

New Year – New You?

January 1, 2014

I was always gonnna say this, I was bound to draw your attention to it, I was destined to be red-faced at pointing you in the direction of this great big foot-in-the-mouth and I have been waiting with baited breath so I could post this, just for you, at this time of year:

On New Year’s Day 2013, after a fantastic night on the tiles in Manchester with my best mate, I told you how positive, optimistic and entrepreneurial I was feeling.

Famous. Last. Words.

2013 has been HORRENDOUS. AWFUL. PAINFUL. CATASTROPHIC. MENTAL (literally). IMPOVERISHED. MOURNFUL. FRIGHTENING. ANXIOUS. DEPRESSED. SUICIDAL (yes literally) LIFE CHANGING…

Oh, hang on a minute, did I just say ‘Life Changing’? I think I might have.

Here’s the thing people – life never leads you where you expected it to. No amount of positive thinking/affirmations can ‘save’ you from yourself. What I mean by this is this – sometimes we have to hit rock rock rock bottom in order to discover something that we have been running from our entire lives. Sometimes we must dare to be red-faced with embarrassment because we got something (like, er, my entire philosophy on life) wrong.

Sometimes, sometimes, just sometimes – we will be forced to surrender.

So take a look at my New Year’s Day post for 2013 and have a giggle to yourself – I didn’t know it at the time but I was talking a load of rubbish. Looking back – deep, deep down, I did know what was really in store for me, I just didn’t dare look into the heart of the matter (or indeed, what mattered, truly, truly mattered).

Now…. let’s look at this present moment:

What does 2014 hold in store for me?

What does 2014 hold in store for you?

What do we want it to have in store for us?

I have no idea.

Thank fuck for that.

Much Love,

Me xx

2 Comments
  1. So what is your answer to your last question, Matt? Much love, new joy, and good health to you in 2014.

Leave a Reply

misswendywongusa

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Rambling with "Crazy A"

Adventures around the country and around the world.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

The Doctor's Couch

Hiatus: Time off.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Contemplation Center

We connect people through the practice of contemplation.

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

The Twisted Spinstre

The drollest site of all time - of all time

SFoxWriting.com

Something For Everyone's Needs

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

