Skip to content

Sitting in the Eye of the Storm (Performance Poetry)

January 6, 2014

Dare you sit with me? With my head spinning, bones shaking, heart failing.

Can you stand up to grace and open your heart? Will you be strong and weak for me?

I challenge you now to lose yourself in me and me in you

I rise to the occasion of catastrophe and bleed my wounds into your face

I love you for who you are and not who I thought you were

I want to embrace you in public and brave the scars of decay

My nakedness exposes the truth of my authentic soul – ugly, potent and shameful

Ashamed of truth and courageous enough to admit it – I skin myself alive for all to see.

Hold me.

Be unclothed

Carry me, limbs latent, groin exposed, heart open

I am limp in your arms and helpless

Transport my useless body to the next level of death

I trust you.

I ask that you trust me in not knowing what either of us are doing

I beg of you to strip yourself bare, stand before me and judge my emptiness in the silence

I can hear the piercing of your sword, cutting stone, the final cast of damnation

The storm is picking up now, carrying me out:

to the deathbeds.

Where we will both be judged

Judged in joyful honesty

Sentenced with an honest dye

Cut, stripped and beaten:

to death.
Do you dare die with me?

Do you dare to lose yourself as I find me?

Dare you – be you?

Dare you – be me?

Dare you lose you?

Find me?

Stand with me –

Please –

Just. Stand, with, me:

In the eye:

of the storm.

Matt Chase 2014. The above is in preparation for the following What Now Part 1 and What Now Part 2. The following two posts require therapeutic/professional support should you decide to carry out the practices described. The practices that follow (over the next few days) are designed to assist you in sitting in the eye of the storm.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

misswendywongusa

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Rambling with "Crazy A"

Adventures around the country and around the world.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

The Doctor's Couch

Hiatus: Time off.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Contemplation Center

We connect people through the practice of contemplation.

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

The Twisted Spinstre

The drollest site of all time - of all time

SFoxWriting.com

Something For Everyone's Needs

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

