Skip to content

A Little Something About Owls

February 2, 2014

A few years ago I was standing on the balcony of my apartment (a plush penthouse apartment I no longer occupy, boo hoo) and staring up into the midnight sky. The apartment was in Manchester and being a city Owls are not, of course, common-place. Pigeons yes, Owls, no.

As I stood there, discarding my cigarette to the water bucket, I heard an Owl cooing. Did I? Of course that really is impossible. I heard it again. I looked but couldn’t see anything. I heard it again.

I closed my eyes, grounded myself and then I heard an almighty sound that I cannot describe. The sound was caused by this giant Owl’s wings as it flew a mere inches from my face. It landed upon the chimney top, around eight feet away from where I was standing, and stared right into me.

I was undone.

Hot and cold rushes shivered their way down my body as my chest opened towards this frightening presence. She continued to stare and I continued to stare back, still in disbelief: am I really seeing an Owl in the middle of Manchester? Or am I dreaming? I thought to myself.

The Owl heard my thoughts and as if to prove a point, She launched from her resting place upon the chimney and again flew past my face, the air abruptly brushing my cheeks as She flew away.

According to the Natives of America, Owl Medicine (when an Owl visits you, it is considered a medicine that must be taken: taken notice and acted upon) is about Darkness. When an Owl visits, you are being encouraged to learn about the importance of Darkness. The Owl teaches us that Darkness is not only important – it is necessary.

I imp laud you – do not run from the Darkness. It is here to teach us something. Do not fear the opposite of Light for they are one and the same and without each other both would surely cease to exist.

Even the apparently Lightest of beings has a Dark side. Darkness only causes a problem when we refuse to acknowledge its presence.

Embrace the Darkness, hold it close and learn from the whispers It makes into your ear….

With Much Love,

Matt xx

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

misswendywongusa

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Rambling with "Crazy A"

Adventures around the country and around the world.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

The Doctor's Couch

Hiatus: Time off.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Contemplation Center

We connect people through the practice of contemplation.

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

The Twisted Spinstre

The drollest site of all time - of all time

SFoxWriting.com

Something For Everyone's Needs

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

